What to Pack?

Packing for a trip can be super hard and stressful for some people. Like anything though, the more times you do it the better you will get.
Here are a few tips that I believe have helped me become a more sufficient packer.

too much baggage photo

  1. Don’t take too many toiletries

Toiletries can be purchased nearly anywhere in the world so wait till you arrive over there. Especially if you will be travelling with carry on luggage, you wont be able to take more than 100ml bottles on plane trips overseas.

  1. Don’t forget your medication

Even though toiletries may be accessible anywhere, medication on the other hand will be a bit more difficult to get and will cost you a lot more! Make sure you see your doctor before you go away and stock up on your medication.

  1. Make sure you pack outfits

Neutral colours (black, grey, navy, brown, khaki and white) are the key to creating outfits! These are basic colours that will go with almost anything! I find this super hard to do as I LOVE patterns and bright colours! The only way I can create outfits is to have a good combination of pattern and plain colours.

  1. Be Organized!

Make a list (I love lists) and plan out what you want to take with you a week or two before you go away. Trust me, it will help you in the long run. On my first 3 month trip away, I was super unorganized and just stuffed a heap of clothes into my bag the night before I left only to realise once I was gone that I had way too many clothes but none of them actually went together! Being organized will also prevent you from making mistakes and leaving important things behind.

  1. Have copies of important documents

I always email a copy of my passport to myself incase of an emergency and print out important information like visas, car rental, accommodation, etc. and place it in my carry on luggage. NEVER pack these items in your checked luggage.

  1. Always pack less than you think

No matter how long your trip is 1 week, 1 month or 1 year the amount of stuff you take shouldn’t really change. Remember you don’t need to bring every single item of clothing you own. Just bring a few of the necessities and then you can always buy things if you need them. It’s always a good idea to pack your bag only half full so that way you have plenty of room on the way home for all your new souvenirs, clothes, etc. No one wants to pay for extra baggage at the airport!

  1. Travel with only Carry-On Baggage

I know this may seem absurd to a lot of people but it’s actually crazy to see what you can fit into a carry on size bag! Not only is it super easy to carry around but it will also save you so much money when flying. Just wear you’re heavy shoes and jackets on the plane with you to make sure you’re under the weight restrictions.

  1. Check what the weather is doing

Of course what you pack will vary depending on where and when exactly you will be travelling. Make sure you research what the weather will be like before you arrive so you know what kind of clothes you will need to take with you.

 

Leave a Reply

